Share

Free games: Fallout 76 gets a free weekend so you can check out the “whole new Appalachia”

Fallout 76 has had a load of updates since its maligned launch, and the recent Wastelanders expansion has been the biggest one of all. If you’re curious about whether Bethesda’s take on multiplayer games is now worth checking out, the devs have a risk-free option for you, as Fallout 76 is getting a free weekend.

The Fallout 76 free weekend starts on May 14 at 9:00 PDT / 12:00 EDT / 17:00 BST, and will conclude on May 18 – also at 9:00 PDT / 12:00 EDT / 17:00 BST. As always, you’ll get full access to the game for as long as you want to play, and your progress will happen much faster for the promotion, as a double XP event coincides with the free weekend.

Bethesda is calling it a “whole new Appalachia” following the latest updates, and the release of Wastelanders last month introduced a revamped main story and human non-player characters to give the world a bit more life. By most accounts, it’s much improved these days – and as our launch Fallout 76 review will tell you, the game certainly needed the attention.

If you’ve been on the fence since Wastelanders, the promo will offer up a great chance to see if F76 is worth revisiting.

For more free PC games, you can follow that link for a big list of excellent, gratis titles.